Plantains: How To & a Recipe Round-Up

My first attempt at peeling, cutting up, and frying plantains was a big ole whopping fail. The skin wouldn’t come off for me, and I overcooked them… essentially making them like pieces of bark, not even chips.  This past week I saw some at Harris Teeter and said to myself ‘Hey, why not try these again?! I’m no quitter!’ Well, I’m so glad I did, because this attempt was a WIN!

To read everything you may have ever wanted to know about Plantains (and probably a bit more) take a trip over to PaleoLeap.  I would strongly suggest visiting that website if you’ve never worked with plantains before.

image source

This time around, here’s how I prepped and cooked them:

Ingredients: Plantain(s), 2 TBS fat of choice per plantain, salt, pepper.

Prep: chop off tips of plantain, make a slice through the skin lengthwise, peel skin off similar to how you would a banana. Slice in 1/4 inch thick discs.

Cook: In a hot pan, add your favorite cooking fat of choice.  The past two times I have made plantains recently I used ghee and coconut oil, about 2-3TBS.  Place your plantain slices in the hot oil/fat and fry for around 4 minutes per side. They start to ‘sing’ when they’re about ready to flip. Once both sides are a nice golden brown, transfer to a plate, and sprinkle with salt and pepper (or if you prefer, cinnamon). Enjoy!

Some Recipes from my favorite paleo bloggers:

Shredded Pork Caramelized Mashed Plantains by PaleOMG

Sweet Plantain Guacamole by PaleOMG

Plantain Cake Tostada Bites by Predominately Paleo 

Perfect Paleo Pancakes by The Paleo Mom

Plantain Chips by Fed+Fit 

Fried Green Plantains by NomNom Paleo

I hope you learn to love plantains as much as we have!

xoxo,

Syd

Leave a Reply

