Pyramid Play

On July 26th, it will be my 1 year anniversary of being a certified Spinning® instructor. Now, I typically take a more modern approach to my classes, as I’ve mentioned many times before, so to celebrate my 1st birthday with Spinning®, I went back to the basics with this new class profile. 

For starters, let it be known that I adapted this class profile from one of Lean Lena‘s originals.  Started with a killer profile and added even more awesomeness. Kudos to her for the inspiration! Check out her blog for awesome Spinning and TRX workout inspiration! 

In indoor cycling, a ‘pyramid’ is a way to indicate a grouping of drills all performed for the same amount of time. As you step up the pyramid, the drills become fewer and the time becomes longer. At the top of my pyramid, we sprint all out before we start down the other side. While heading down the pyramid, you pick up a drill and you decrease your time. (I’ll explain in more detail soon, no worries. It’ll make so much sense here in a sec.)


Here’s the playlist I used:

  

So, Pyramids in more detail:

After your warm up track, you’ll start into the bottom corner (I switched this up from Lena’s partly cuz I confused myself then didn’t want to reprogram my interval timer- I use ‘Interval Timer’ a free app in the App Store). I also set up my iPad with the interval timer so the class could see how much time was left of each drill and they loved that. 
Warm up

UP First step- 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 for EACH 1:15

UP Second step- 4, 3, 2, 1 for EACH 1:45

UP Third step- 3, 2, 1 for EACH 2:15

UP Fourth step- 2, 1 for EACH 2:45

TOP- sprint for 0:45

DOWN Fourth step- 1, 2 for EACH 2:45

DOWN Third step- 1, 2, 3 for EACH 2:15

DOWN Second step- 1, 2, 3, 4 EACH for 1:45

DOWN First step- 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 EACH for  1:15

COOL DOWN
And here’s my drawing of the pyramid and the drills (excuse the sweat drops):

  
If you like this profile, go give Lean Lena some love too!! 🙂  
Also, today was an overly amazing day, and I have to brag on my fiancé who spoils me to no end! I’ve briefly mentioned to him that I wanted a spin bike for the apartment, and today after I taught, he told me to meet him at his office. When I get there he pulls a sheet off of a spin bike… Not just any bike, MY bike! Proving for the 2648582614th time that he knows all the ways to my heart. Love you long time, John! 

Here’s my new baby:

  
😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍
I hope you all have wonderful evenings!
xoxo,

IMG_6252


DISCLAIMER: Please note that while I make every effort to capture and present these indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles accurately, the class profiles and class descriptions posted on this blog do not constitute complete instruction for teaching the indoor cycling class / Spinning class.

No statement is made to the suitability or otherwise of the indoor cycling profiles presented on this blog. Care must always be taken when riding an indoor cycle. Please, consult your physician before starting an exercise program.

The indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles presented are not meant to be exercise and/or personal recommendations, but only examples of workouts that the author completed in the past. The owner and authors of these cycling class profiles will not be responsible or liable for any injury, illness or death resulting from the use of the information contained in this article.

3 thoughts on “Pyramid Play

Leave a Reply

