A Paleo 4th of July! Kabobs and Grilled Peaches

Happy [belated] Birthday to the lovely United States of America!! I hope everyone had a safe and happy fourth!Β Thank you to all the soldiers who have fought and continue to fight for our freedom. Let us commence the celebratory lounging and cooking out!

thank you to soldiers

First thing I did was worked on my calorie deficit so I could indulge in some lovely grilled peaches later… During my whole ‘MERICA ride, I was thinking about them… I’m such a foodie.

Followed by a wonderfully relaxing day at the pool with some lemon water and my other half. ❀

Then, IΒ conquered my fear of the charcoal grill- thanks to john for lighting it and providing adult supervision while I cooked!

I burnt myself once… but it wasn’t even close to the grill… So I don’t count that. haha. I took a kabob off the grill with an oven mitt and tongs, transported it to the serving plate, then decided to grab the metal skewer and move it then OUCH! burned an imprint of the skewer into my thumb… that’s all it took for me to remember things are still hot after you take them off of the FIRE. haha Don’t make the same mistakes I do…

ouchie

Chicken Kabobs

Β Β 

Β What you need:Β 

Chicken tenderloins (we used 12)

Favorite BBQ rub of choice

ACV

What to do:

  1. Night before: season chicken tenderloins liberally on both sides with your BBQ dry rub seasoning of choice. I have a great concoction here. Place chicken in container and cover with ACV. Place in refrigerator to marinate overnight.
  2. Skewer chicken tenderloins and grill until fully cooked.

Veggie Kabobs

What you need:

use any veggies you like

zucchini

squash

onion

tomatoes

green pepper

baby bella mushrooms

1 sweet potato, quartered

the juice of 1 lemon

2 TBS butter/ghee/coconut oil

salt

pepper

What to do:

  1. Slice vegetables any way your heart desires. Skewer.
  2. Once the grill is hot, place butter in glass dish on the grill. Put the kabobs/sweet potato quarters on the grill, brush with butter. Β Allow veggies to cook and get a nice char, then flip.
  3. Once finished cooking, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Grilled PeachesΒ 


3 peaches, halved and pit removed

coconut sugar

cinnamon

1 TBS butter/ghee/coconut oil

juice of half a lemon

blueberries for garnish

mint for garnish (optional)

What to do:

  1. Prep: once peaches are halved, liberally sprinkle coconut sugar and cinnamon over.
  2. before placing on the grill, brush each peach with melted butter. Place face down on grill.
  3. Cook for 15 minutes. Top with coconut cream sauce and a handful of blueberries….

Coconut Cream Sauce (for peaches)

1 can coconut milk, full fat

1/4 cup raw organic honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

What to do:

  1. Refrigerate can of coconut milk, upside down for a few hours.
  2. Place solidified cream in mixing bowl (keep or discard liquid). Add honey and vanilla extract.
  3. Beat with hand mixer or stand mixer until frothy whipped goodness is reached.
  4. Option: pop in freezer for an hour+ for more of an ice cream texture.

Enjoy!

As always, I’d love to see your recreations of my recipes! Tag them on Instagram or Facebook with #paleoptimistic!

xoxo,

Syd

4 thoughts on “A Paleo 4th of July! Kabobs and Grilled Peaches

  1. I have never tried grilled peaches before! I cannot wait to try this part of the recipe! What a unique idea! Sydney, Did you butter the veggies/fruit a second time after turning them over? Thank you for the great idea!

    Like

      1. Thank you! I have subscribed to your extra email content, actually! I’m excited to have access to all the extra tips and content πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

