Venison Barbacoa Burrito Bowls & a Spartan Sprint!

Hola Amigos!

Sorry it’s been a little while since I’ve posted any recipes l, I was working on THIS recipe for Paleo Living Magazine, completed my first Spartan Race (Charlotte Sprint) along with wedding planning. Lots and lots of wedding planning… to the point where I had decided that if I could cater my own wedding, I damn well would, and EVERYONE would love it. 😉 P.S. If I were to cater my own wedding, this recipe would be what I served.

We used venison, but you can also use beef or pork, whatever suits your fancy! The major star of this dish is the marinade, which if I’m being honest, you could put it on cardboard and LOVE it. I don’t recommend doing that, but that’s just how darn good this marinade is. Now, word of caution before you dive into the recipe… I have made the instructions to where you can make the whole meal in the picture. Don’t get overwhelmed! I highly suggest reading through the instructions before you start cooking so you know the time line of prep and cooking instead of having to try to figure it out as you go along.

Even the prep makes your mouth water:

3venison

Venison Barbacoa Burrito Bowls
2venison

Ingredients

1-2, 16oz Jars of Canned Venison (if you don’t readily have canned venison, you can use 2-4lbs chuck roast cook in slow cooker on low for 4-6 hours)

Marinade: MAKE 24 HOURS AHEAD OF TIME (double this if you use 2 jars of venison or 4# beef/pork)

8 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar

2 tsp balsamic vinegar

2 tsp lime juice

½ cup raw organic honey

1 cup chopped macadamia nuts

¾ cup fresh cilantro

4 garlic cloves

4 green onions

2 TBS coconut sugar

2 tsp black pepper

2 tsp cumin

½ cup avocado oil

Sweet Potato Rice

3 medium sweet potatoes, spiralized and pulsed through a food processor

½ cup bone broth

2 TBS lime juice

½ cup cilantro, chopped

2 TBS coconut oil

Sauteed Veggies

Mushrooms, diced

Onions, diced

Green peppers, diced

2 TBS coconut oil

Guacamole (recipe here)

Instructions

  1. 24 hours ahead of time, make the marinade and cook the chuck roast if you do not have canned venison on hand (2-4lb chuck roast on low in a crock pot for 4-6 hours or until cooked through, pour ½ of the prepared marinade over chuck roast while it cooks). Break up the chunks of venison.
  2. Marinade Simmer the ACV, balsamic vinegar, and honey in a sauce pan until combined.
  3. Marinade Blend the vinegar and honey mixture, macadamia nuts, cilantro, garlic, onions, sugar, pepper, and cumin in a food processor until a pesto-like consistency is reached.
  4. Marinade Pour your ‘pesto’ into a bowl and stir in the avocado oil.
  5. Once marinade is finished, displace ½ of the residual juice in the venison can(s) and fill jar with marinade. Re cap, and shake shake shake!! Place can(s) in refrigerator to get happy overnight. Store remaining marinade in container to use as sauce for your burrito bowl.
  6. Day of: prepare the sweet potato rice. Peel, spiralize, and pulse in a food processor until ‘rice-like’ shapes are produced.
  7. Sweet Potato Rice Heat up a large skillet with coconut oil, toss in sweet potato ‘rice’ and cook stirring occasionally for 3 minutes, then add bone broth and cook for 5-10 minutes or until soft. Once rice is finished, add cilantro and lime juice and stir.
  8. Optional make the guacamole.
  9. Sauteed veggies In a large skillet with 2 TBS coconut oil, sautee your veggies. Sprinkle salt and pepper over and cook until onions are transparent.
  10. Venison While the veggies are sautéing, pour the contents of your venison can(s) into a skillet and heat.
  11. Serve! Serve up a scoop of sweet potato rice, guacamole, sautéed veggies, venison barbacoa and your favorite salsa over a bed of lettuce! Drizzle some marinade/sauce over top as a dressing & Enjoy!

4venison 5venison

This recipe is slightly high maintenance, but it doesn’t disappoint! My whole family was ranting and raving about this for weeks. We’ll definitely be keeping the sauce on hand for quite a while!

Even Sully was trying to get some noms!

1venisonsully check out the post on Paleo Living Magazine, here!


Now to fill you in on my first Spartan Race! Mud, mud water, climbing, AROO-ing, and so much fun! John was a sweetheart and stayed with me the whole time, which was rather helpful for the walls since without him pushing my butt over them, I’d probably have had to do more burpees! All the ‘difficult’ obstacles weren’t bad–we beasted the traverse wall and the tarzan jungle gym, but those darn climbing obstacles that were higher than 10 feet off the ground threw me for a LOOP! I knew I was scared of heights before, but I didn’t know it was that bad–I’m talking shaking and other people were very aware how terrified I was, to the point that they were giving me sweet words of encouragement! lol, I’m a mess! We finished our 4.3 miles and 22 obstacles in 2 hours and 5 minutes, which was right around the average time! My goal was to FINISH and not incur any broken bones, and I succeeded!  We are signed up for our next Spartan Race for September 19th, here at Fort Bragg (Sprint), and this time, my goal is a faster time, and be able to do the walls and rope climb all by myself!

bazu-5368020
John looking all badass after going under the wall through the mud water, and me in the background being mildly dramatic while accounting for my contacts. lol
bazu-5355607-2
fire = finish! WOOHOO!
bazu-5349240
Nice face, right? I refused to roll, like everyone else, until I kept finding ALL the rocks. After this point, I started rolling.
bazu-5348907-2
John rolling through the barbed wire like a boss

Anyone else training for a Spartan Race?

AROO!

Syd

Leave a Reply

