May’s Jammin’ Playlist

Hey friends! I know it’s been a while, and for that I apologize greatly! I’ve been keeping things quiet due to a ‘secret blog post’ I’ve been working on that was supposed to be published yesterday, but hasn’t been yet… I’ve emailed to inquire so I don’t keep y’all infinitely on the edges of your seats.  To make up for my hiatus, I’m rolling out a killer playlist for the upcoming month! 

My goal as a Spinning/Cycle instructor is to challenge my classes, give them the ‘power’ of having control over their workout, fill their ear holes with killer music, and enable them to see how awesome they really are once they push themselves out of their comfort zones.  That’s my favorite cue to use during class “leave your comfort zone”, strive for greatness, challenge yourself to new heights! Believe you can do it! Pushing hard in class is just as much mental as it is physical and if you BELIEVE you can do it, you will.  I have my wonderful mentors to thank for this mentality and drive to motivate and challenge my classes.

SpartanImagewhyirace
John made this. 🙂
My playlist for May is possibly the most challenging of my class profiles that I have developed yet. The first day I  taught it, I over-torqued (put too much resistance on the wheel), thinking I could manage at a higher level than I was cueing the class at WHILE calling out form cues, next move, motivation, etc… BOY was I wrong… This one’s a doozey! But I say that in the best way possible.  If you’re looking for a great workout where you feel powerful and like you just conquered the world afterwards, then I’ll see you in class for this ride!

The tracks started to take on a Rihanna vs Breezy (Chris Brown) effect, which kinda made me want to fight through the class even harder. (heheh, see what I did there? Don’t worry, you won’t be black and blue after class.) There’s just something about a RiRi song that gets me going.. no matter the BPM or what she’s talking about.

Without much further ado, here come the tunes:

spinningMAY

**”add a level” correlates with our LifeFitness LifeCycle bikes, and for a SpinnerPro it equals a half turn**

BATMAN– intro (this is when I talk, go over safety, and form, etc)

HONEY IM GOOD– RPM over 85. warm up light to mod resistance, halfway and 3/4 way thru song add a level

WANT YOU TO WANT ME– mod-heavy climb @ 3 w/beat

JUMP– 8ct jumps mod, hustle at 3 for dub step, repeat.

HEARTBEAT SONG– immediate accelerations in saddle for verses, chorus @ 3 add 2 levels, repeat.

AMERICAN OXYGEN– seated climb, add levels each minute. focus on staying at 75 rpm.

WORTH IT–  fast hover @ 3, take it to 2 for ‘see me in the spotlight’, repeat.

BOOTY WURK– hover at 3 heavy.   “booty wurk”=2 ct jumps, repeat.

ALL DAY– mod resistance start in saddle, stay at 75 rpm (FOCUS), add level each min until up at 3

TURN UP THE MUSIC– heavy @ 3 with beat for whole song

5 more hours– 75rpm saddle climb increase level each minute. FOCUS on keeping 75 rpm

4 MINUTES– free work @ 3! Mod-heavy resistance! Work on jumps, hover, etc, focusing on GREAT form the entire time.

BOOM– mod saddle climb for snoop, @ 1 min: out to 3 and speed up, repeat.

GET LOW– roller coasters (I call out: saddle, 2, 3, hover, etc), with the beat

SHUT UP AND DANCE– sprints over chorus (15 sec BLASTS)

BATMAN– cool down & stretch


So, who’s ready and willing to try this bad boy out? I’ll see you in the saddle!

Here’s my week’s schedule:

9:30a Mondays @ Omni Health & Fitness

9:30a Tuesdays @ World Gym

9:30a Wednesdays @ Omni Health & Fitness

9:30a Thursdays @ Omni Health & Fitness

9:30a Fridays @ Omni Health & Fitness (**Friday classes beginning MAY 1!!**)

10:00a Saturdays @ World Gym

1:30p Some Sundays @ Omni Health & Fitness.. Check your schedules for my name!


Since I’m teaching pretty much every day, I’ll be working on another playlist so we can mix it up a bit throughout the month, as well as a brand spankin ‘new’ throwback tunes class. 🙂

Hope to see you in the saddle!

Yours in health,

Syd

Please note that while I make every effort to capture and present these indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles accurately, the class profiles and class descriptions posted on this blog do not constitute complete instruction for teaching the indoor cycling class / Spinning class.

No statement is made to the suitability or otherwise of the indoor cycling profiles presented on this blog. Care must always be taken when riding an indoor cycle. Please, consult your physician before starting an exercise program.

The indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles presented are not meant to be exercise and/or personal recommendations, but only examples of workouts that the author completed in the past. The owner and authors of these cycling class profiles will not be responsible or liable for any injury, illness or death resulting from the use of the information contained in this article.

Leave a Reply

