SCONES! (3 ways: Blueberry, Apple, Dark Chocolate Raspberry)

All my life I’ve loved the Duncan Hines Blueberry Streusel muffins that come in the red box with the can of blueberries and the bag of ‘streusel’. Does anyone else remember those? Well, big surprise that neither myself nor John can eat any of that stuff in that box anymore, so the other day when a blueberry muffin craving hit, I did some brief research on how to make muffins from scratch.  After deciding I’m all “muffin’d out” as of lately I then set my mind to scones and altered the recipe (in my brain) accordingly. Scones sound so scholarly.  So tea with the Queen-y. Sophisticated breakfast cookies. Or at least that’s what I was telling myself as I waited for my coffee to kick while throwing ingredients into my mixing bowl.  Unfortunately, I didn’t write down my recipe for the blueberry scones… Which I’m kicking myself for, but I did my best to recreate the recipe while also trying out new flavors- apple cinnamon and dark chocolate raspberry. I think I did a decent recreation of the original blueberry scones (in regards to texture and flavor of the dough, not the actual fruit flavor).

So, I’ll stop blabbering and get into what you want… the Recipe (broken up into parts- dough and filling):

blueberry sconesSCONES

Dough Ingredients

1.5 Cups Gluten Free Flour of choice (I used Cup 4 Cup diary free version)

1/2 Cup Coconut flour (plus more for work surface)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup coconut palm sugar (REPLACE WITH 1 WHOLE BANANA MASHED FOR 21DSD COMPLIANCE!)

2 large eggs

3/4 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup Almond milk (or milk of choice)–AS NEEDED

‘Filling’/flavor Ingredients (the following measurements are to make a whole batch of one flavor):

for blueberry:

2 Cups fresh or frozen blueberries

-or-

for dark chocolate raspberry:raspchoc scones

2 Cups fresh or frozen Raspberries

2 TBS unsweetened dark chocolate powder

1 TBS coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup chocolate chips of choice (optional)

–mix the chocolate powder with the coconut oil to create a syrupy concoction.  You will add this to the dough once the raspberries (and optional chocolate chips) are folded in.

-or-

for apples:apple cinnamon scones

4 Cups green apple, diced

2 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar

3 TBS coconut oil

1 TBS cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves, ground

1/2 tsp nutmeg

–add above ingredients to a medium hot skillet add coconut oil and ACV, then add apples and cook until apples are semi-soft. Coat apples thoroughly with spices.

–Add 2 tsp cinnamon to the dough mixture.

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients.  Mix well.
  3. Add eggs, vanilla, ACV, melted coconut oil. Combine with hand mixer or blender. Your goal is a nice, thick dough that you can mold. Add milk as needed.
  4. Once dough has come together, fold in your filling of choice.
  5. Place sheet of parchment paper on counter and lightly dust with coconut flour. Dump your dough onto the parchment paper and form into a ball. Gently push the dough out until you have a thickness of 2 inches and about 6 inches in diameter.  Most important part is that they are thick! So, push for the 2 inches!
  6. Transfer the parchment paper to a baking sheet.  Bake for 40 minutes.  At the halfway point, pull the baking sheet out and slice the scones into wedges, separating them a tad from each other–This will help them get nice and crispy on all sides while keeping the insides more on the moist side. Bake for 20 additional minutes, checking on them periodically to make sure they don’t get too brown.  If they are getting brown too quickly, cover with aluminum foil.
  7. Allow your scrumptious scones to cool completely, and enjoy with your favorite tea or black coffee!

All were SCRUMPTIOUS! But I do have to say my favorite was the Apple Cinnamon Scone, partly because of how thick I made this one, and I love how apples and cinnamon make me think of Fall, my favorite season. Remember: don’t smash your scone dough out too thin! They’ll still turn out good, but they’re not the same.

Now, take the rest in to work so you don’t eat ALL THE SCONES, like I’m tempted to do…

xoxo,

Syd

Leave a Reply

