A Valentine’s Day Spinning Ride

So, it’s been a few days! {Sorry!}

This past Saturday, I mixed it up and made a themed ride for Valentine’s Day! It was pretty fun and a difficult workout, if I do say so myself.  The music was a little different than I usually choose, but brought out some smiles, laughs, and helped everyone push through the tough climbs and isolations.

So, before I get into the playlist and drills we did, I will go ahead and mention that I am Spinning certified through Madd Dog Athletics.  Madd Dog Athletics bases their Spinning certification and mentality around love SPINNINGroad biking and moves common in those instances.  This ride I designed for Valentine’s day has some ‘Boutique’ indoor cycling moves (if you will), such as tap backs and figure 8s (front to back figure 8s, not up and down… I’m still not on the bandwagon with the pushups over the handlebars, or for letting go of the handlebars for any reason such as Russian twists or weights while on the bike).  I find that since we are stationary, and as long as I teach correct form for these moves, and keep them as OPTIONAL add ins, no harm no foul. They’re pretty fun when done with correct form and can help break up the long, steep, climbs, in my opinion.

Now, the part you’re waiting for… the TUNES!!! Brought to you by my wonderful Facebook friends (as I posted asking for suggestions for songs for this ride)!

vday spin playlist

Here come my notes, straight from what I reference during class… (side note: ‘swing right’ means add resistance, ‘swing left’ means take resistance off, any instance saying 3 or 2 means hand position unless it’s preceded by an x.)

LET’S RIDE! 🙂

  • Roses – warm up, 1/2 way thru increase resistance, 3/4 way thru 3 2 1 tap backs instructional and practice.
  • Survivor– [seated to standing climb (chorus) x2, isolations] x2 swing right each chorus
  • Dancing my own- seated climb mod res for 2 min. Run for 1 ish min. At 1:09 left, Swing right and Stand climb to the beat for 1 min.
  • Dirrty– run at 2 chorus, for verses: add resistance and hover at 3, then  2 count jumps
  • Sugar– match the beat, add resistance to make it feel like pulling thru mud. Double time for chorus (x3)
  • Love me like u do– faster seated climb, match the violins. Control your pace.
    Endurance. FORM! Swing right when beat builds at 1/4, 1/2, 3/4 song time.
  • Single ladies– match beat, climb at 2, chorus 💍: 2 count jumps, ‘put your hands up!’ To 3,  next verse add resistance, 💍 2 count jumps, put your hands up to 3.
  • The way u make me feel- moderate resistance, match beat, 4 count tap backs, chorus: double time run at 2, then add resistance (x3)
  • Diamonds– take off some resistance, match beat, run at 2 for first half, swing right out to 3 and climb (it should be tough to keep up with the beat). When riri done singing do 4 count Jumps thru the end.
  • Am I wrong– heavy seated climb, heavy 3 2 1s (mind body drill). Optional tap backs.
  • Trumpets– mod to heavy climb with beat at 3, ‘and the trumpets they go’: sprint in saddle. Add res ISO! when song slows. Last trumpets heavy seated climb thru end.
  • Let’s get it on– Load up the wheel heavy,  ‘lets get it on’: ISO for chorus. Rest at 3, swing right do it again!
  • Womanizer– match beat, run at 2.  chorus: 2 count jumps (surprise: add resistance each time)
  • Jesse’s girl– match beat & run at 2 to load wheel and prep for chorus sprints. TIGHT CORE DURING RUN TO SUPPORT BACK! Think about string pulling head up into ceiling. No slouching!
  • Team– cool down!! Resistance 1/2 way off, resistance all off, stretch.

I rode this ride again today and it helped me burn a whopping 720 calories per my Mio Fuse heart rate monitor! I love the surprise isolations and the long standing climbs. I hope you enjoy it as well!

xoxo,

Syd

Please note that while I make every effort to capture and present these indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles accurately, the class profiles and class descriptions posted on this blog do not constitute complete instruction for teaching the indoor cycling class / Spinning class.

No statement is made to the suitability or otherwise of the indoor cycling profiles presented on this blog. Care must always be taken when riding an indoor cycle. Please, consult your physician before starting an exercise program.

The indoor cycling class / Spinning class profiles presented are not meant to be exercise and/or personal recommendations, but only examples of workouts that the author completed in the past. The owner and authors of these cycling class profiles will not be responsible or liable for any injury, illness or death resulting from the use of the information contained in this article.

3 thoughts on “A Valentine’s Day Spinning Ride

    1. I have Keen brand clip in shoes with the spd clips. The shoes were around $30 on Amazon and are great! You definitely get a better work out clipped in. Plus, when you ride in running shoes or flexible soled shoes, you have a greater possibility of your heel hanging off the back of the pedal which would then cause your toes to point way into the floor to over correct for it… Which is bad news bears! You could go to a local cycling shop and get fitted for shoes if this is your first time, I definitely recommend that- just tell them you’d be using them indoor. Let me know if you have any other questions! I hope Spinning brings you as much joy as it does me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

