21DSD: Day 19 & Coconut Baked Fried Chicken

what you want now mostHot DOG we’re getting this done! Day 19 and we’re in the home stretch!

I’ve been thinking about how we’re going to apply this to our daily post-detox lives, and I’m thinking about allowing no sugar peanut butter (yes, this isn’t paleo), ketchup (no sugar and low preservatives), the occasional adult beverage, some variations in fruits, but limited, John’s protein powder, the occasional protein bar, pure maple syrup (because it’s a sin to eat pancakes sans syrup), and 85%ish dark chocolate. I may also have to cave and get a pack of those red velvet oreos, try one, then give the rest of the pack to someone else… Maybe O can take them to school to share for Valentine’s Day.  Other than those things, I’m planning to stay close to detox regulations. I feel so darn good!

We’ve been so good.  We drove right past Sweet Frog (froyo, a common indulgence of ours) today and despite John saying ‘Anddd we could just take this left turn right here and have some lovely frozen yoghurt!’ he drove right on by and just like that, we stayed disciplined.  It’s been a lot easier sticking to the detox with a partner doing it with me, and for that I am grateful.  The day before we started this detox, his Muscle Pharm supplements came in, and he was so excited! Unfortunately for him, the only thing he could take from the whole haul was the glutamine. I’m sure he’s been counting down the days til he could take his supplements and go all BeastMode at the gym like all y’all do on the pre-workout stuff. We have a Spartan Race coming up soon anyways! Time to put some muscle mass on! AROO!

Here’s what we ate today:

Breakfast: John had some banana n’oatmeal, and I had 2 eggs scrambled with a roma tomato.

Lunch: John had the leftovers from last night, and I had 2 fried eggs over a salad with avocado, tomatoes and homemade ranch.

Dinner: Coconut baked fried chicken, sweet potato fries, and broccoli.

coconut baked fried chicken

Day 19 recap: At this point in the detox, I’m starting to get a tad worried about how my system will do as I re-introduce foods back into my diet.  Memories of having regular gluten and dairy filled pizza after not having it for months fill my mind, and that was not a pretty sight or a happy Sydney. Part of me hopes I feel real awful after trying a red velvet Oreo (is it sad that I’m planning out me trying these Oreos? probably), that way I’ll never want one again. Part of me is terrified that I’ll try one, then some heathen will take over and John will find me in a corner coming out of a sugar induced coma, cookie crumbs and icing smeared all over myself and the walls. Dramatic? Yes. Definitely.  Hilarious visual? UH yah! Probability of that actually happening? 15%. John will be fine. He’s very disciplined. Something I admire very much about him and I hope some rubs off on me!  I have already planned next weeks meals per detox regulations, that way any straying we do from the ‘plan’ even though it’s after the 21 days, will be balanced by slightly strict meals.

Now for the recipe for the yummy chicken we had tonight!

Coconut Baked Fried Chicken

What you need:

6 Chicken Thighs

3 eggs

1-2 Cups Unsweetened coconut flakes

3/4 cup coconut flour (or flour of your choice)

1 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

1 tsp Cayenne Pepper

1 tsp Garlic Powder

1 tsp Onion Powder

1 tsp Cumin

Salt & Pepper to taste

Parsley for garnish

 

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Line a baking dish with parchment paper or silicone baking sheet.
  3. Mix together flour and spices, coat chicken in this flour mixture.
  4. Whisk the eggs in a separate mixing bowl.  Place flour mixture coated chicken in the eggs. Coat chicken lightly with egg.
  5. Place floured and egged chicken into coconut flakes. Coat chicken with coconut flakes. Then place in baking dish. Repeat for other chicken thighs
  6. Bake chicken for 45 minutes or until meat is cooked. *For the last 3-5 minutes, I put my oven on broil (High setting) to get all the coconut flakes nice and golden.
  7. Plate up the coconut baked fried chicken, garnish with parsley, and serve with a side of homemade ranch or ketchup! Enjoy!

Stay tuned for more rays of sunshine!

xoxo,

Syd

 

 

5 thoughts on “21DSD: Day 19 & Coconut Baked Fried Chicken

    1. Thanks for reading!! The paleo diet has really changed our lives and brought a little bit of sunshine along with it! ☀️ I just hope to share some sunshine with others!! I’ll have to check out your blog as well! 🙂

      Like

      1. that’s amazing! the paleo diet is super awesome! i’m so glad it has changed your lives for the better and how fitness has transformed your lives, it’s really inspiring 🙂 and thank you so much have a great weekend! x

        Like

  1. Congrats on sticking with it. I remember when my hubby “came off” gluten and sugar. Said he felt like a crack addict coming off a high! He was not fun to be around, but he’s so much better and healthier for it! The chicken looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s been awesome sticking with it and I’m so glad we decided to do it! & Oh gosh! I hope we don’t feel like crack addicts coming off a high! We didn’t have to change too much of our habits during the detox from what we normally do, so hopefully that will help! Thanks so much for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

