21DSD: Day 18

you are what you eat“You are what you eat, so don’t be fast, cheap, easy or fake.”  But really… I’ve learned through this detox that this very statement is 150% true.  Even my ‘cheats’ of extra allowed (but limited) fruit made me feel like crap.  And yes, fruit is a healthy choice,  however too much of a good thing isn’t always good. That’s one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned throughout this detox.  I also learned that sodium isn’t the only culprit that’s responsible for causing me to bloat, but also sugar… which was why I felt so horrible after eating more fruit than I was supposed to have.

I don’t think I ever want to go back to how we used to eat…… Well, I do want to add in the occasional glass of wine and a treat of dark chocolate (but not 100% dark and unsweetened like we were allowed on detox) every now and then.

Here’s what we ate today:

Breakfast: buffalo chicken frittata (the last of it), an apple streusel muffin, and some sweet potato home fries.

Lunch: John’s packed lunch had-2 hard boiled eggs, almonds, peppers, a pickle, baked sweet potato, and last nights leftovers. My lunch consisted of an apple, baked sweet potato with cinnamon, almonds, and a camelback bottle full of water.

Baked sweet potatoes with cinnamon taste like candy to me now.  It feels so wrong, but I love it!

Dinner: Spicy dry rubbed bacon wrapped chicken thighs with stir fried broccoli, peppers and onion.

As I’ve probably mentioned before, I nanny in the afternoons.  Today, for ‘study time’ with O, we tried out the Paleo Pup Treats recipe, to be released to you wonderful people on Sully’s 1 year anniversary with his fur-ever family (Feb 9th)!  I had O follow the directions, measure out the ingredients, and tell me what I needed to do and when (in regards to chopping ingredients, using the oven and the blender, you know-all the sharp and extremely hot things that could cause injury or trips to the ER).  We are working on following ALL directions and maintaining focus.  He also got to make them into whatever small shapes he wanted, and Duck got the lovely perk of being a recipe tester… You be the judge of how they turned out… 🙂

IMG_4262

IMG_4263

 

Day 18 recap:  This additional goal I added of drinking 100oz of water per day is slowly killing me. Overdramatic? yes. But lordy… So. Much. Water.  In regards to the detox, once you find your groove, you’re golden.  Keep on keeping on and relish in how amazing you feel! 3 days to go for the official 21 days, but a lifetime to go for me!

xoxo,

Syd

Leave a Reply

