21DSD: Day 15 & Hot Baked Chicken Thighs Recipe!

learn new think be
because this quote. and cats. 🙂

Today I stumbled across this neat app: MyPaleoPal.  It’s essentially a forum, similar to instagram mixed with myfitnesspal, that people post pictures/descriptions/recipes of their paleo meals so others can like, comment, and get inspiration and ideas for paleo meal planning.   I just downloaded it today and am still learning about everything it does but I did notice people posting paleo/aip/ and 21DSD meals! So it’s not just strictly 100% ride or die paleo.. You can tell it’s a relatively new app, with things that need revamped and upgraded, but it’s just that… a NEW app. I’m excited about it and seeing how it grows and develops to better fit the ‘needs’ of the users.   If you’re interested in trying out this app, I’d love for you to join me! Right now, sign up is by invitation only, and you can use my invite code: ILOVEBACON.  Join me and lets see if this app is the next big hit! 🙂  (side note: I’m not sponsored by this app, just sharing cool new gadgets I’ve found!)

{UPDATE: After trying mypaleopal out for a day, I found that it’s not the forum that fits my needs, nor do I feel that it is as user friendly as I would like.  There’s no easy way to find your friends (which is a main aspect of an app like this), nor does it fit my needs.  I heard about another app, called TwoGrand, from a fellow member of the 21DSD group and downloaded it as comparison to mypaleopal.  Everything I felt that mypaleopal was missing, TwoGrand has. You can set goals, you can search for other users, it even ‘matches’ you to other users that you have goals or lifestyle aspects in common with.  Try it out with me, and find me! My username is: paleoptimistic, or you can search my name: Sydney D’Agostino!}

Breakfast: banana chia n’oatmeal with almond milk and green tipped banana slices, the rest of the green tipped banana, apple streusel muffin, and a slice of buffalo chicken frittata. YUM!  (I do have to admit though, I’m not a huge fan of the apple streusel muffins–for 1 dozen muffins, there were 1 dozen eggs… too eggy for my liking, so next time, I’m going to try to make them more like the banana muffins, just without banana.  Once I try and am successful, I’ll post a recipe! 🙂 )

breakfast day 15

Lunch:  chicken salad wraps, ‘no-cobb’ salad with tomatoes, hard boiled egg, pickle, and homemade jerky.  Baked sweet potato with cinnamon, and for ‘desert’ a little moo-less mousse and 2 coconut cinnamon cookies. 🙂

John's lunch, packed last night with love. :)
John’s lunch, packed last night with love. 🙂

Dinner: baked Frank’s Red Hot chicken thighs, green beans, mashed carrots.

 

 Hot Baked Chicken Thighshot baked chicken thighs

What you need:

6 Chicken Thighs

1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot sauce

2 TBS Coconut oil, melted

1 tsp Garlic powder

1 tsp Onion powder

1/2 tsp parsley

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 Red Pepper flakes (or more depending how spicy you like it)

Sea Salt

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. In a baking dish, grease bottom (I used coconut oil spray) and arrange chicken thighs, lightly dust with sea salt.
  3. mix together hot sauce, melted oil, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, red pepper flakes, pepper and brush over chicken thighs.
  4. Place chicken thighs in oven for 15 minutes at the high heat.  After 15 minutes is up, slather more sauce mixture over the thighs and bake for 25-30 additional minutes depending on the thickness of the chicken thighs.
  5. Set oven to high broil setting, broil for 5 minutes or until skin is browned and crispy.
  6. enjoy!

 

Day 15 recap: “you must learn a new way to think before you can master a new way to be.”  I couldn’t have said it better myself.  If you keep thinking about sugar and what you’re missing out on, you won’t be able to open your mind, accept, and enjoy the gloriousness that is this new way of eating… the new way of being.  And I promise you, once you let go of what once was, you’ll feel SO amazing!

Yours in health,

xoxo

Syd

Leave a Reply

