21DSD: Day 1

Today was easy peasy.  I’m not sure if it was the fact that I was excited about conquering the first day of The 21 Day Sugar Detox (remember, we are doing Level 3 with energy mods), if it was the loud rain, or that I just really wanted to go to the gym early this morning, but I was up and at ’em at 4:00am, with John.  But first, coffee.

Breakfast was ‘on the go omelet muffins’ (one for me and 3 for John.  There’s about 1.5 eggs in each ‘muffin’ so I was good to go), topped with Frank’s Red Hot.  I also had a green tipped banana.

Hi Ho Hi Ho its off to the gym we go! So we went to the gym, John had fun on the stair master while incorporating med ball overhead carries for the whole 45 minutes. Talk about a total body workout!  Me, on the other hand, I went to the early morning cycle class, then hung around and practiced my class for a whopping total of 2 hours of nonstop cycle.  I was in heaven. Endorphins surging. Post workout high achieved and I can’t wait to start my day!  Post workout fuel: 1 small sweet potato sprinkled with cinnamon, each.

I’m feeling pretty good and not hungry. Went and ran some errands, let the dogs out (who who who!), then for lunch was mixed greens salad with spinach, veggies (celery, carrots, peppers, pickles, tomatoes, cucumbers), and 1 hard boiled egg.  For dressing was a combo of Frank’s Red Hot, avocado oil, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.  In hindsight, I should have put more than one hard boiled egg in John’s lunch.  He needs more protein than I do, but in my defense I did ask him if 1 was good or if he wanted 2, 3, …

Snack was 1/2 cup pistachios.

Then, I picked up the kiddo I nanny and it was time for snack.  His grandparents are in town so there are a ton of cakes and sweets hanging around the kitchen. The g’rents have quite the sweet tooth.   It was so funny when I explained to little man what I was doing and that I ‘gave up sugar’… he was so confused. Especially when I explained to him about apples (non green kind) having sugar in them and I couldn’t have those either.  It was sweet tho that he was trying to get me a snack I could eat, and for that I’m proud of his hospitality and his manners. 🙂 #happynannymoment

Other crazy cravings I had today (simply because I knew I could not have them) included: peanut butter, soda, pancakes with maple syrup, a double doozie from Great American Cookie, and a gourmet grilled cheese with all the cheeses! And honestly, I can’t say I’ve had any of those things, sans the peanut butter, in a very long time.

Dinner time. Tonight, dinner was pan seared tilapia filets with balsamic beets (only 1/2 cup per each of us) and all the veggies we could imagine over a salad.  Today’s meals were very leafy and very green, but they’ll get more interesting! 🙂  We each also had a bacon & leek coconut flour biscuit with our salads.  AND, I made some 21DSD approved avocado oil based ‘ranch’ dressing. Because Ranch.  One thing you should know about me, I love Ranch, Nutella, and Frank’s Red Hot.  I put that $h*t on everything. All of it. Not all at once, I’m not that craycray.

John had a grapefruit for desert as his one fruit of the day.

In preparation for tomorrow, I made the Chia N’Oatmeal, but I didn’t have vanilla beans so I substituted 21DSD approved natural vanilla extract. I snuck a little taste while portioning them out and putting them away and they’re very tasty.  I can’t wait to try in the morning and see how happy all the flavors get!

In summary of day 1: Feed the man more protein. PREPARATION IS KEY. And by all means, get your workout on! You’ll feel fantastic and start your day with a wonderful surge of endorphins, which will help you make your own sunshine on even the cloudiest, gloomiest, no sweets day! 🙂

xoxo,

Syd

Leave a Reply

