21DSD: Day 0, and a Spinning playlist

Happy Sunday to all my wonderful followers out there! I hope you had an amazing and relaxing weekend and are refreshed to beast Monday!

Today was my day to teach Cycle at the gym, and I tried out my brand spankin’ new class profile with them today! And when I say brand spankin’ new, I mean that I hadn’t even tried it yet myself… I had 11 people in my class (a personal best!) and we were all digging the tunes and the drills. The energy was AWESOME and class participation was on point! I loved it, they loved it, and every single person told me it was a great class! I do have to admit, it was a HIIT. (lol, I’m funny) 🙂

**Shout out to thedancingrunner for informing me that youtube is an awesome resource for finding new tracks for classes! I may have used a few of her selected tracks from her most recent playlist posted. No shame here! She’s awesome, so I figured if I used some of the same ones, I’d be awesome too. 😉 It totally worked!

Here’s the track list for class.  There was really no method to the madness, I used a HIIT/interval timer for [mountain] climbing drills and surprise Tabata sequences which I can post if you’re interested! 🙂

30 Hit songs from 2007-2014 – A mashup

Ayo (official Clean Audio) HD

Til it’s Gone (clean version)

Uptown Funk ft. Bruno Mars

Nine Tees Deep, D.Veloped

Animals (remix)

Wobble, VIC

Time of our Lives

Turbulence (Clean Version)

Take me to church (DJ Mike D remix)

I can’t stop

Shake, ft. Pitbull

Boy Oh Boy

What are you going to do when you are not saving the world, Hans Zimmer

~~~~~~~~

Today was also prep day for our 21 Day Sugar Detox.  We are exactly a week behind those that began on January 5th with Diane Sanfilippo, but I wanted to make sure I had time to read the guide book (which arrived on Tuesday), adequately prep my shopping lists, and had time to prepare for meals for the week.  Which I am happy to say I succeeded in all those categories!  We will be following Level 3 of the detox with Energy Modifications. Our day zero weigh in before we hide our scale for the duration of the detox (as recommended by Diane)… Syd: 121#, John: 175#. Next weigh in will be day 22.  Diane recommends to not weigh yourself during the detox since the goal of the detox is not weightloss, but rather to hit the ‘reset’ button on your blood sugar levels and rein in those ‘hangry’ mood swings and cravings. As a very hangry person at times, I need this detox. I’m also looking forward to the added benefits of a low sugar diet for those with Crohn’s (John).  The guide book suggested L-glutamine as an added supplement, among others, for the duration of the detox, and John will be taking that as it supports the repair of the gut lining (small intestine) and improves gut function.  All those benefits sound like a God-send to someone suffering from a Crohn’s flair up. I’m hoping we can completely kick his current flair up by doing this detox. #hopeful

(Please note: I am not a doctor or medical professional so if you are experiencing symptoms similar to what I described, please consult your healthcare professional before adding supplements to your diet. What may work for some, may not work for others.)

Today we hit up BJ’s and Harris Teeter to stock up on grub for the week (and then some). My favorite coffee was finally back at BJ’s and I about cried in the aisle.  If you’ve ever had Cafe Bustelo espresso coffee, you know what I’m talking about.  It’s a way of life, and I’m completely and totally addicted. No shame.

Today’s food prep for the week included:

bacon & egg omelet cups

bacon & leek coconut flour biscuits

baked sweet potatoes for post WOD (workout of the day)

Hard boiled eggs (which I baked)

Bison burger breakfast meatballs

Bone Broth (I made this on Thursday, but I will include it here to account for it!)

*Side note, I’m super excited about learning that deer bones can be used to make bone broth! So, Dad, if you’re reading this… ask your butcher for those bones please!!! If he can chop them in pieces that would allow about 6-8 chunks to fit in my crock pot at once, that’d be great!  I’ll use all of them 😉

I also made John’s lunch for tomorrow (salad with hardboiled egg, celery, carrots, cucumbers, red peppers, and for dressing: a drizzle of avocado oil and balsamic vinegar. Also a snack baggie of pistachios)

Stay tuned for daily 21DSD posts!

xoxo,

Syd

Are you following any diet modifications or detoxes to jump start your new year? Let me know! I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

