21DSD: Day 2

I’m a huge promoter of health.  Healthy body, healthy mind, healthy life.  So cliche, right? Well, with the New Year resolutions, health is a fad right now… Don’t let it be a fad, but rather a way of life.  Rid yourselves of the toxins that have infected your life and everything will get so SO much better.  Don’t seek out drama, don’t participate in it, and don’t let people walk all over you or bring you down.  Put yourself in someone else’s shoes.  How are you being perceived? Be aware of when others are taking out their insecurities and fears on you, and don’t let this impact how you perceive the situation or yourself.  Be assertive, stand for things you believe in and that you’re passionate about, but don’t be confrontational about it.  You are important!  Pursue overall health for YOU. Nobody said it would be easy, but it’s definitely worth it! So, let’s make health a habit.

My big reminder for today is that if you do decide to do this detox, it doesn’t have to be difficult.  You decide.  I have fun attempting to try new recipes, so that is why I make some of the more ‘complex’ stuff that takes more time, preparation, and planning.  If that’s not your cup of tea, just put together meals based on the Yes/No/Limit foods lists and you’re golden.  I do, however, still encourage planning ahead so that at least your mornings are brainless.  Grab your tupperware of pre-prepped breakfast and warm it up (preferably on a microwave safe plate free of toxins found in tupperware).  Zombie proof your detox. We all know how we are pre-coffee.

This morning, I definitely needed that extra jolt to help get me to wake up. I slept like a baby last night–probably because of the double doozie spin class I did yesterday.  I did NOT want to wake up when that alarm went off at 5:15 and am already planning on going to bed early tonight. lol.  This morning was also full of making sure Sully was feeling ok by giving him some extra snuggles (He threw up yesterday twice and seemed lethargic this morning, but the lethargy was just because he was sleepy. He’s back to normal spirits now!)   He took full advantage of mommy snuggles time- complete with complementary belly rubs and ear scratches.  Here’s my morning in a picture:

sullysnugglesick

–He brings out my cuteness aggression on a daily basis.–

Talking about coffee, Diane suggests limiting the amount of caffeine intake during the detox since that encourages sugar cravings.  (I feel like we’re bffs when I refer to her using her first name, so I’m going to keep doing so. lol)  I love the bitter of black coffee, and don’t have any cravings afterwards so I ignored this suggestion (sorry bff!).  I do however forget about my coffee A LOT during the course of a morning — misplacing my cup, forgetting I poured some, having an fur baby on my lap and not being able to reach my cup (like this morning), or warming it up in the microwave and then forgetting about it– which may be why I don’t have cravings after my morning fix.   They really need to invent an intravenous mode of transport for coffee. Maybe if it’s actually attached to me, I’ll finally finish a cup all at once.

[Reminder] We are doing Level 3, with energy modifications (energy mod means we are allowed 1/2-3/4cup sweet potato or plantain for up to 3 meals per day), so here’s our list, for reference:

Foods for today included:

Breakfast— Chia N’oatmeal (link to recipe in day 1 post) with a bacon and leek biscuit.  The texture of this n’oatmeal is kinda strange, so if you’re finicky about textures, beware. It was awesome tho!

(get ready for sad photography… it was gloomy and overcast today, and we live on the first floor, so there’s like no light coming in our windows today… and I’m horrible at taking these pictures)

Chian'oatmeal

Post workout– 1 small baked sweet potato with cinnamon, each.  I did yoga at home, and John went to the gym early early this morning.  Today’s my rest day- I teach cycle tomorrow at 9:30am and I want to be rested and ready to motivate and beast the killer ride I have planned. 🙂

Lunch– leftover tilapia over salad with veggies

Snack– 1/2 apple (me, which I’m taking with me when I go nanny); 1 grapefruit & pistachios (john)… Speaking of sweet potatoes, I have more individually wrapped in foil cooking in the slow cooker as I type this.  Wrap those puppies in foil, plop in the crock pot on low for 8 hours and boom! When they’re done put them each in their own container for grab and go low maintenance snack prep for the week.

Dinner– Paleo Curry Chicken Stir-fry

2015/01/img_4118.jpg

Day 2 recap: YOU decide the level of complexity of the meals on the 21DSD. If you like to munch on snacks while you’re bored or while you work, plan for that and give yourself some approved snacks! Today was John’s half day at work and when he got home he about ate all the pre-prepped breakfast stuff for the week because he was hungry! So, this means I need to prep better for the rest of the week and the remainder of the detox and have more easy, filling, snack options on hand. Nuts, approved lunch meat, jerky, more boiled eggs, to name a few options. You don’t have to deprive your body from food… that’s the beauty of this program.

Now, for the recipe…


Paleo Curry Chicken Stir-fry

What you need:

6 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Thighs, diced

6 baby peppers, diced

1/4 cup leek, diced (optional)

4 cloves garlic, mashed & diced (I omitted this as I would be adding a garlicy leek)

1 onion, diced

1 TBSP curry powder

1 TBSP smoked paprika

2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp red pepper flakes

2 TBSP coconut oil

What to do: 

1. In a large hot wok or skillet, brown chicken thighs in 1 TBSP coconut oil

2. Toss diced veggies in the wok/skillet with the chicken. Brown them.

3.  Add leek or garlic.

4. Add 1 TBSP coconut oil & stir in the spices to the chicken and veggies to evenly disperse spices.

Enjoy!


Keep shining & stay tuned for more daily recaps! 🙂

xoxo,

Syd

Leave a comment